Last Thoughts…

Act of Dog - Packet Mural Death Row #

How did this horror happen?
What am I doing here?
Who can I trust, who’ll come for me
To save me from this fear?

I wait and wait, with love and hope
That things will soon amend
Before the man who smells of dread
Comes calling for my end

He’ll come with blood upon his hands
And cruelty on his breath
His clothes will stink of chemicals
With him I’ll meet my death.

Oh please come someone, get me out
I promise, I did no wrong.
I am a good boy, you will see
But please, don’t be too long?

I see him in the corridor
The loop is in his hand
His eyes are focussing on me
I hear his harsh command

I know this means my time is up
You’ll not reach me in time
But could you take the dog next door?
Because he’s the next in line.

© Ruan Mills Burke. All rights reserved

Author Notes

Painting, by Mark Barone,  is part of the ‘Act of Dog’, Campaign

Leave a comment